Hobbs was a young and growing community in the 1930’s. A group of 30 people decided they wanted to provide recreational facilities for the people in the Hobbs area. In May 1937, James M. Murray went to Santa Fe to purchase state land for the purpose of building an airport and country club. He purchased 323.40 acres at $5.00 an acre. The property was divided with Hobbs Country Club purchasing 160 acres of the land at cost. On May 24, 1937 a meeting was held at Hobbs High School by citizens of Hobbs to organize what is now known as the Hobbs Country Club.
Originally Hobbs Country Club was a nine hole course. The first nine holes developed are today known as the back nine of the golf course. The course was not irrigated so the fairways were native grass and caliche. The putting surfaces were sand, when caddies or players reached the putting surface they would use a rake to smooth the sand toward the putting cup. The golf course was completed by December of 1937.
In 1938 the two room clubhouse had a small kitchen for member usage and a ballroom. The Pro Shop served as the bar and living quarters for the superintendent and later the professionals and their families.
In March of 1949, a remodeling of the Hobbs Country Club took place. The new facilities included mens and ladies locker rooms. In May of 1958 nine new holes were completed making Hobbs Country Club an 18 hole golf course. Over the years, many changes were made to the course and clubhouse. Sand bunkers were added along with many trees for beautification.
Hobbs Country Club’s tradition continues today. We honor our rich history and look ahead to its future. But, most of all, we enjoy its present…and hope all our members and their guests do too!